KKR vs SRH Live Score, IPL 2024 Qualifier 1: Kolkata Knight Riders won

Sadik Shaikh
2 Min Read

KKR is won! Finally KKR Strong Run Chase Against SRH in IPL 2024 and became Qualifier 1

Pace spearhead Starc emerged as the pick of the bowlers for Kolkata Knight Riders, ripping through the SRH batting order. Spinner Varun Chakaravarthy ably supported him, reaching a personal milestone of 20 dismissals in IPL 2024. The combined effort of Chakaravarthy and Sunil Narine, who shared three wickets between them, restricted SRH from putting up a massive total. Despite a fighting knock of 55 runs from Rahul Tripathi and a late cameo of 30 from Cummins, SRH could only manage 159 runs in their allotted 19.3 overs.

Filling the void left by Phil Salt, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sunil Narine’s new opening partner, blazed a quickfire 23 off just 14 balls. However, his knock was cut short by pacer T Natarajan inside the powerplay. Despite the dismissal, Kolkata Knight Riders continued to cruise in the powerplay, reaching a commanding 63-1 after the first six overs. This marked the ninth time KKR had crossed the 60-run mark in the powerplay throughout the season.

The tension wasn’t over yet! Needing a win, Shreyas Iyer decided to take matters into his own hands. He launched a brutal assault on bowler Head, smashing three consecutive sixes and a four to seal the victory in a dramatic four-ball spell. Head, perhaps feeling the pressure, delivered a string of half-volleys which Iyer gladly dispatched to all parts of the ground. This explosive display not only secured the win but also propelled Iyer to a well-deserved fifty.

Match summary

Sunrisers · 159 (19.3)

Rahul Tripathi55 (35)Mitchell Starc3/34 (4)
Heinrich Klaasen32 (21)Varun Chakaravarthy2/26 (4)
Pat Cummins30 (24)Andre Russell1/15 (1.3)

Knight Riders · 164/2 (13.4)

Shreyas Iyer58* (24)T. Natarajan1/22 (3)
Venkatesh Iyer51* (28)Pat Cummins1/38 (3)
Rahmanullah Gurbaz23 (14)Nitish Kumar Reddy

You may also like to read similar news here

Share This Article